Do you mix your own Venetian?

Status
Not open for further replies.

FineEarth417

I've been doing Venetian for a few years, using several different products available here in the states. Because I'm a bit of a rebel I suppose, and I'm cheap, I've been trying to come up with my own mix to accomplish the same thing with lime putty, marble dust, and linseed oil. I haven't had much success. Does anyone mix their own? Is there a secret I'm missing? Thanks!

I've not tried it mate. Trawl through the forum though. I remember reading something about this a while back. If you do it though. You need a good quality of lime and I'm told the best comes from italy

I seem to remember being told by some one much older and wiser than me many years ago that the more mature your lime putty is the better the end result will be so, on that note how old is the lime putty you are using and have you tried leaving some for say 6 months before attempting your own mix. I also seem to remember reading many years ago that some suppliers of lime putty have stocks that could be up to 10yrs or more old have you tried sourcing more mature putty?

I've been doing Venetian for a few years, using several different products available here in the states. Because I'm a bit of a rebel I suppose, and I'm cheap, I've been trying to come up with my own mix to accomplish the same thing with lime putty, marble dust, and linseed oil. I haven't had much success. Does anyone mix their own? Is there a secret I'm missing? Thanks!

There is a lot more to it than that. I've had a dabble myself and although i have manage to create a nice smooth "lime plaster" with my experimentation it is a far cry from something that is as good as mass produced venetian. There is a fair amount of acrylic binders in venetian plaster these days and when advertised as a natural lime venetian plaster it can still contain up to 10 percent acrylic.