K Rend Advise

Members online

Ext10

Hi,

Looking for some advise from those with experience of using K Rend.

Earlier this week (Mon & Tues) I had K-Rend applied to my house extension. The K- Rend was completed by a subbie through my builder. A K-Rend base coat was applied and scratched on the Mon with a top coat of K Rend Silicone K1 in pewter grey applied on the Tues. The job was completed by hand with the top coat finished with a sponge. The total thickness of the base coat and top coat is approx 10mm. I believe the top coat can only be 3mm at best. I’ve never used K-Rend before but from looking at pictures online the final finish looks quite different. It was dry on the Mon & Tues but there was then rain in the early hours of Wed with this being heavy for 3hrs or so from 6am. The render was not protected.

Attached are some photographs of the final finish. These show that the colour is not uniform throughout and not as solid as I would have thought it should be. On the gable end there appears to be a line 2/3rds of the way up with the top 1/3rd showing a different type finish/texture. In some places it looks like there are patches where you can see the base coat although I’m not 100% as the top coat and base coat are probably the same colour which in hindsight now seems a pretty stupid thing to have done on my part.

Basically from reading online I believe the base coat should have been applied 6-8mm thick and then the K1 topcoat 10-12mm thick on top of that before then being scraped back 2mm. The final thickness should have been 16-18mm.

I would really appreciate any advice or comments folk may have before I raise this with my builder. As well as the overall look, I’m also concerned wrt it’s durability and how well it will do it’s job i.e provide the weather protection and breath ability to the block work.