Can i PVA over Plas Prime

Members online

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bilbo

Morning all,

I am new to plastering and have done a few ceilings both over new plasterboard and old artex and all have come out fine, but I have now got to tackle my stairs hallway and landing which will be the biggest area I have done.
I was advised to use a cementone Plaster prime on the artex ceiling 1st to give me the best chance of being able to get the job done in one hit as my speed still needs to improve, but i am not convinced.
I have painted this stuff all over as per instructions and cant really feel what difference this is going to make.

Question is can i PVA over the Primer as this would make me more comfortable as at least i can feel the PVA go tacky.

Thanks

hi dildo. if you are concerned then overboard it. you can pva if you want but what are you hoping to achieve by doing that?

The PVA was just to add suction really.
Think i might give it a quick coat just in case. i was more concerned that the PVA might react with the PlasPrime.

I wouldn't PVA over it. That stuff is the same as thistle bond-it I believe, so it will have already killed all the suction.

Expensive tackle though isn't it?

The PVA was just to add suction really.
Think i might give it a quick coat just in case. i was more concerned that the PVA might react with the PlasPrime.
Are you planning on reskimming it once you have done it?........................didnt think so, so whats the point of adding a bonding agent twice? If i was you i would save the PVA for when you have to re-skim it ;)

its alright with all that gear painted on the ceilin all he has to do is slap it on then go out learn how to plaster for a few years let his speed pick up, by then the plaster should have picked up enough to at least first trowel it:RpS_lol:

just pva it mate if it makes you feel any better, no need to buy all that expensive stuff just stick to pva

pmsl at nickelarse