Cheap way to stop Damp...in bomb shelter?

Members online

TheVanguard

Hi

I am close to buying a house, as well as a standard garage, it also has another underground garage which I understand may have been converted from an old WW2 bomb shelter.

The house is on a hill and the garage dug into that hill...it’s steel re-enforced concrete and I guess 6 to 8 inches thick. It’s probably10ft or so under ground and surrounded by earth on all sides except the front.

It’s a bit damp...not overly so but I would like to make it waterproof enough to store some bikes in...could I get a local builder plasterer to tank it and would that cost and would that be sufficient...?

Obviously if it’s too expensive it would be cheaper just to buy a shed, but I would like to make use of it as possible.

Complete newbie here and any help appreciated

Thanks

Last edited:
Sounds like fighting serial killer talk! :LOL:

You could stud it, insulate and vapour board for a cheaper method.... or maybe sound boards would better suit ? :inocente:;)

What ever u do on the inside it will always be damp in my experience see its the clay fill needs a drain around outside and needs stone back fill a couple of feet out from wall big job i know but its that or live with the damp

Oh for Christ’s sake...........pfffft......
Get a spade and dig off all that dirt that’s piled up on it, cut a window in the far end so you can ventilate it nicely. Drain water into a soak away.
There.

Hi

I am close to buying a house, as well as a standard garage, it also has another underground garage which I understand may have been converted from an old WW2 bomb shelter.

The house is on a hill and the garage dug into that hill...it’s steel re-enforced concrete and I guess 6 to 8 inches thick. It’s probably10ft or so under ground and surrounded by earth on all sides except the front.