Jointing plaster board before plaster

redhat1283

Novice here. Do I have to tape and joint blueboard before plastering? If you're not supposed to and I happen to already have done half of my basement before deciding to plaster, do I have to cover the joint compound with a PVA before applying plaster? There is a mix of drying and setting compound. Wasn't sure what I originally wanted to do so I just hung blueboard instead of drywall and just figured I'd joint and paint if I decided to skip the plaster.

Novice here. Do I have to tape and joint blueboard before plastering? If you're not supposed to and I happen to already have done half of my basement before deciding to plaster, do I have to cover the joint compound with a PVA before applying plaster? There is a mix of drying and setting compound. Wasn't sure what I originally wanted to do so I just hung blueboard instead of drywall and just figured I'd joint and paint if I decided to skip the plaster.
No you just scrim the joints and skim it. As you've already taped and filled some though, as you thought just PVA the jointing compound and skim it

W
Yes. Why's that?

When you mentioned blue board, as we just call them plasterboards over here. I paper tape new boards as much as possible as it has superior crack resistance to scrim, if it’s just a basement and your not fussy just use scrim and plaster.
If you decide to paper tape then no need to prime just fill the tapered joins flush at the taping stage then next day skim over.

What are you skimming them with?
Well that was going to be my next question. The rest of the house is a knock down that I believe is two parts. I think they did a Gray coat and then the top coat. I'm not exactly sure what if I'm going to try that or just smooth. Both seem to have their challenges. If I'm staring at the bags of plaster at Lowe's what am I supposed to be getting?