K-Rend Thin Coat Application

MBurton

Hello all,

I’m having a debate about the correct way to apply K-Rend thin coat up to base coat stage. I’m not a plasterer, I’m a builder but I have a good knowledge of plastering methods.

The way I see it, is providing you have a level substrate (eg cement board or nicely levelled EPS) you only need to do one coat of basecoat with embedded mesh. So 3mm, mesh, 3mm then rule off and rub up ready to receive primer and TC15 when dry.

If you don’t have a level substrate, e.g. going onto old brickwork then you should apply a levelling basecoat (no mesh required) to dub out, scratch it up and apply the mesh coat as above once you have obtained a level surface.

My mate and several other plasterers are saying this is impossible and you must do a ‘mesh scratch coat’. So rather than rub up as above you just scratch it. Then you come back later and top off with a layer of basecoat (no mesh) and rub that up.

I understand this takes some pressure off as you haven’t got the hassle of embedding your mesh then trying to rub up in one day.

I think that this creates for a much weaker build up though as your final layer of basecoat is unreinforced. Maybe not so much of an issue on solid masonry substrates, but on large areas or those prone to movement such as straight onto EPS, when the render build up flexes for example with an impact from a football, the reinforced layer is going to absorb the impact as designed but the upper unreinforced layer is just going to potentially crack as it will not withstand the same bending and impact force as the reinforced layer.

What do you lot think and more to the point, how do you apply it and what works for you?

Cheers.

if its a large area i will apply a slurry coat next day.
but generally we are lay on.. notch...... embedd. then a 2nd coat wet in wet with a spat trowel finish.
giving the 6mm thickness i cant say the depth of the mesh will dictate too much about impact.

Hello all,