New Trowel Advice

trb08150

Morning Guys,

Looking for some advice/recommendations on purchasing a new trowel. I'm fairly new to plastering as a DIYer but it's coming along ok thanks to all the tips and advice picked up from the forum

I'm currently using a cheapo Screwfix 11" trowel but am looking for something a bit better as I'm getting more confident and now have a few larger tasks to tackle in the near future. Marshalltown stuff seems to be popular in the trade and I was thinking of something like this:

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Marshallto...r=8-1&keywords=marshalltown+plasterers+trowel

Would probably opt for the 13" as I think a 14" may be to much of a step up and could be problematic for a DIYer.

Also does having a good trowel make a massive difference to the finish? My cheapo one has done ok so far but not sure if this has forced me to learn the hard way or not..

Thanks for all your advice lads

Morning Guys,

Looking for some advice/recommendations on purchasing a new trowel. I'm fairly new to plastering as a DIYer but it's coming along ok thanks to all the tips and advice picked up from the forum

I'm currently using a cheapo Screwfix 11" trowel but am looking for something a bit better as I'm getting more confident and now have a few larger tasks to tackle in the near future. Marshalltown stuff seems to be popular in the trade and I was thinking of something like this:

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Marshallto...r=8-1&keywords=marshalltown+plasterers+trowel

Would probably opt for the 13" as I think a 14" may be to much of a step up and could be problematic for a DIYer.

Also does having a good trowel make a massive difference to the finish? My cheapo one has done ok so far but not sure if this has forced me to learn the hard way or not..

Thanks for all your advice lads
Yes the quality of trowel makes a difference and that’s a good choice your going for.I prefer MT xtralite carbon myself.