Old member returning with a controversial question

Members online

Salty

Hows it going you lot, i was a newbie to this forums and plastering in 2012 when i last posted here! To even say that seems like the last 7 years has just vanished, anyway simce 2012 i went on my own house bashing and stopped working on sites and i just stopped posting, tired/kids drink or whatever excise there was at the time.

Anyway glad to be back and getting into it again, ive got a question to ask though and its a controversial one so dont hate me i know theres "loads of info blah blah" i need to know if its relevant now?

So ive only been plastering 10 years out my time (3 years apprenty) and only used ss trowel for everything skimming wise. I lay on with a 13 inch mt and wet trowel and polish, am i behind the times?

A mate of mine who is still on site says alot of lads are laying on with steel flatting with a speed skim plastic second coating with steal and flattening in again but then with a plastic speed skim? Troweling off with a plastic trowel polish with a s*p*r*lex? He even said some lads are using a sponge after the second coat flatten!?

So can i ask a question, i just house bash now and out the click to see the finish of other lads, but why would you use all of these different trowells to do what an ss can do? And also.....why woul you f**k**g sponge your work after a 2nd coat flattening? Wouldnt that just undo all of your hard work or am i missing something? AND good to be back lads.

If you want to just use ss people's trowels don't break in like they used to I was always taught to use one trowel and that was broken in on sand and cement then transferred to skimming when ready blades were sharper than a razor blade! Almost as thin as a flexy anyway lol.

Before the era of preworn which are bullshit anyway as there never ready when shop bought as long as I have a hole in my ass!!