Tanking / waterproofing method

Jamielewis90

Hello, this is my first time posting in this site after using it for information regularly over the past year, so go easy on me.

I am renovating a 1930s ex council property in South Wales. It’s built with cavity wall bricks and the walls inside are mainly black mortar, but in good enough condition to skim over. Except for the downstairs external walls...

Two of the external walls downstairs are very damp and the previous owner has apparantly had long standing issues with this.There is yellow cavity wall insulation which I removed a small amount from one brick opening and found that it was very wet. There has also been a lot of water penetration coming through the window seals during heavy driving rain. The cavity insulation and the window seals are all being sorted on the weekend so now I want to plan what rendering methods to use to ensure that the problem is completely gone and not coming back, even if it means complete overkill on the damp proof method.

A further note that one of the downstairs rooms adjacent to the damp walls is a suspended floor.

I have currently hacked of all internal render, wire brushed loose mortar dust, and will clean the walls with a salt neutraliser and a bleach solution to eliminate salt and or mould. I am then considering tanking the walls with a tanking slurry, leaving to dry , priming with SBR then rendering with a sand and cement 3:1 mix with SBR 1:1 with water to waterproof the mix aswell.

Can any of the experts here please advise me:

Am I going to cause further problems putting all these new cement based products on a 1930s property?

Is two coats of tanking slurry a good idea and maybe what product is best?

Any other preferred methods to completely waterproof these walls and prevent any future damp?

Many thanks

Attachments

• 6936230A-3C99-41F5-9FB2-A72776F3C0A7.jpeg
    6936230A-3C99-41F5-9FB2-A72776F3C0A7.jpeg
    1.5 MB · Views: 420