Conflicting information about overboarding lath & plaster

Members online

lennyg

I've been renovating our house for the last 4 months and and am about to tackle the attic rooms. We have a large Victorian detached which previously had 4 attic rooms that we have opened up into one large space. This has resulted in the top part of the roof being just the bare rafters & slate (no membrane) which is open to the purlings. Below this the pitched roof continues to the next purlings which is covered with lath & plaster.

The general advice has been to fill the gaps in the rafters with 50mm foil backed insulation, then add a further layer of insulation ( 70mm) before boarding over. This I can finesse, however what I have conflicting information about is the lath & plaster part of the roof. Is it OK to just overboard direct to the lath & plaster something like 100mm kingspan or similar, then overboard direct to this, or do I need to batten out the lath to a depth of 50mm for ventilation, add the kingspan then batten out this before overboarding or is it more economical to just buy insulated plasterboard and attach that direct to the lath.

All advice greatly appreciated as I have been told various methods and need guidance.

I've been renovating our house for the last 4 months and and am about to tackle the attic rooms. We have a large Victorian detached which previously had 4 attic rooms that we have opened up into one large space. This has resulted in the top part of the roof being just the bare rafters & slate (no membrane) which is open to the purlings. Below this the pitched roof continues to the next purlings which is covered with lath & plaster.