Not open for further replies.

dodgy01

i have a 1960s house and every wall needs re plastering as they are all un even
the walls are very wavey as you run your hands over them
i am a very compitent diy er and a electrician by trade
i can not afford the cost of having every wall re plastered so
i am considering doing a 5day plastering course to get me started
my question is
i understand how to plaster a dry lined wall that is flat but hoe do i plaster a very wavey wall to get it flat and level

many thanks
darren

depends how bad the walls are and how competant you are. if you can dot & Dab this would be one or the easier ways to get the walls plumb and flat or frame the walls out and screw the boards on. then scim them. a 5 day course is only going to get you to patch walls to a reasonable standard not scimming a whole house.

Hi the walls would need to have a couple of coats of PVA, then a tight coat of bonding, which is ruled off flat with a straight edge.
Then skimmed in the usual way.

ok
the course is with gold trowell and about 350
i believe that i would be able to do it ,i rendered my out building to quite a good standard and did a conservatory wall awsel
could you please axplain how to straighten the walls with a ruls please
thanks
darren

lol post some pics you either want to use bonding coat and rule it off or dab them if there really really bad dab them tight if you're confident and tape joint them

they are not really really bad but you can feel them if you run your hand over the walls

when you say rule it off do i apply bonding coat with a float type trowell then pull it back with a straight edge
or have i totally got it arse about face

how good is the existing plaster, the substrate? Might be worth hacking it off altogether.