Dividing a big ceiling

Members online

Status
Not open for further replies.

WireNC

Greetings. My first post.

I have recently done a plastering course after wanting to learn for a few years now.

After the course I plastered my box room to a decent standard. I pulled the old lath and plaster ceiling down. Boarded up and skimmed the whole room.

I am now tackling my living room ceiling which is too big to do at once with my current standard. I am simply not fast enough and I am still a rookie.

I remember on course we learnt the scrim tape method of dividing a wall/ceiling. I remember we plastered slightly over the scrim tape section then peeled it back. Perfect for dividing the wall. I can't however for the life of me remember the next step. How do you merge the next section to the last.

I am taught to use multi finish plaster. Applying one rough coat then a second coat. Peel the scrim tape back then there is a nice straight edge.

Thank you in advance for your help.

I have used same method loads of times, tho I use 2 layers of maskin tape, first coat,then lay in ure second coat,then once u have done ure final pass and happy with ure finish peel off the tape to leave nice clean edge, then just plaster up you're nice clean edge , it will still be damp enough to avoid a dry joint,hope this is of help to u

So do I have to start the next section straight away or can I leave it until the following day?

I was planning to spilt the ceiling into 3 sections done over 3 days. Is it best to just carry on and do it in 1 day?

ayup mate

if you do a couple of searches on here mate (top left of the page) you find a few topics on this

Best to do all on same day mate to avoid the dry joint. What size is the ceilin u hope to do?

14m2.
All boarded out and scrim taped.
Hope to start skimming tomorrow. A little aprehensive on how it turns out.