What to do? HELP!

Members online

No members online now.
Status
Not open for further replies.

BristolRuss

Hi, i'm Russ live in Bristol and just after a bit of advise?

I finished my level 1 and 2 diploma with ease in fact finished 1month in front of every body on the course, currently doing my diploma level 3 and I am a head of the group again.

I feel that i'm ok at plastering but by no means a tradesman teachers are always picking up on things, I know i'll pass this course but i'm not sure what to do next? my teachers have told me loads of different options like just labor for a few years learning site standards.
Go self employed start off small and build my way up?
Or continue to further education (Higher national certificate) witch is like site management course.
Work abroad for few years slapping muck on the wall and see it all whilst i'm young.

Seems like no one is willing to take me on as a plasterer just because the fact they got no work or I ain't got enough experience. And I need money! lol like every body else I like money!

It's not what you know it's who you know I guess?

So over to you guys, be honest because I want the harsh truth and to get on with it.

Where in Bristol are you Russ? I do know its hard at the moment but it will pick up soon if i was you mate i would keep trying all the local firms optimum, north bristol, ght, avalon, there all worth a try but if you give me your number when work picks up we could give you a go.

Forget about getting into plastering mate even though its a young mans game you would be better off steering clear of the building game if you can, at worst, get into site management. Trust me, I was halfway through a degree when I spotted the 'Harry loadsamoney Enfield' characters and jacked in Uni. Stiff and gutted now

Live in Knowle bodplasterer ( don't worry not the typical chavy type!)

I'll keep banging on after xmas, seems like my chances our even slimmer at the moment!