Where to start...

Status
Not open for further replies.

CW

Hi all :)

I'm 26 years old and want to change career. I have never worked in the construction industry before but my current job involves alot of hands on work.

Can anyone tell me the best way to 'get my foot in the door' in the plastering industry? Do I try and get a job as a plasterers mate then train on the job with college day release or do I need to get any qualifications before I look to start?

I have a wife with a baby on the way so I need to earn some money whilst I'm training as a plasterer.

Can anyone also tell me roughly how much a plasterers mate can expect to earn and how long the training lasts before you can become a fully qualified plasterer?

Sorry for all the questions :eek:

Cheers

CW

alrite mate a said this in another post. wat a did was a course that lasted about 7months(cng) but a learned everything browning, skimming, dot n dab, patching, floor screeding, fixing boards to timber frames etc etc.n a was only there for 2days a week you cud maybees do sumthing like that n work the other 3days or just learn the basics on a 2week course it up to you ;)

oh and a plasteres mate shud get about 50 quid a day but av found it hard to get a labourers job.